Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.
In California, the Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state and local guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for issuing Concealed Carry Weapon licenses. Due to the detailed nature involved with conducting these background checks, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, the applicant will be asked to schedule a LiveScan appointment for a new Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Important Timeline Information:
Butte County Sheriff’s Office does not advise concealed carry applicants take their concealed carry class prior to applying for their new or renewal license.
Be aware, the Proof of Examination document provided by the course provider, upon successful completion of the class and qualification exam, is valid for 6 months.
Once the applicant has received their notice of approval from the Sheriff’s Office the applicant shall submit their Proof of Examination within 90 days of receiving their approval letter or they will be considered no longer interested in the process and will need to resubmit their application as a new applicant; all fees will apply.
We caution applicants to take these timelines into consideration during the application process.
Please note, should for any reason the applicant be unable to obtain their license the Butte County Sheriff’s Office nor the course providers are responsible for costs expended by the applicant.
If the applicant is RENEWING a Concealed Carry Weapon license in Butte County, they may not apply until 60 days before the expiration date listed on their current Concealed Carry Weapon license.
|Type of Permit||Standard 2 Year||Judicial 3 Year||Reserve/Custodial 4 Year|
Fee Paid during LiveScan Appt.
Inc. DOJ Livescan Fee - $93.00
DOJ Livescan "Rolling" Fee - $36.00
Inc. DOJ Livescan Fee - $115.00
DOJ Livescan "Rolling" Fee - $36.00
Inc. DOJ Livescan Fee - $137.00
Paid upon the approval of the application
Please visit the below website for further information regarding a Concealed Carry Weapon License and approved concealed carry course providers in Butte County:
Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.
Please note that this website is optimized for IE 9.0 and higher, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.
Prior to Filling Out This Application
Keep in mind these documents will need to be submitted each time you renew your CCW permit and do not carry over with each application. If necessary Butte County Sheriff's Office staff may make personal contacts to verify primary proof of residency.
Completing the Application
Answering all the questions on this standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Carry Weapon license, the state statutes require proof that:
The following pages include standardized questions to determine whether a Concealed Carry Weapon license shall be issued.
The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure under the California Public Records Act.
If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license, California Penal Code 26165 in part requires new applicants to take a training course acceptable to the licensing authority that shall not exceed 16 hours. Butte County Sheriff’s Office has further set the course requirement at a minimum of 4 hours. The class is not required to apply though required to be completed prior to issuance of the license. Please refer to the Important Timeline Information section above.
If applying to RENEW a Concealed Carry Weapon license, California Penal Code 26165 in part requires renewal applicants to take a training course acceptable to the licensing authority that shall be no less than 4 hours. Butte County Sheriff’s Office set the course requirement at a 4 hour minimum.
The class is not required to submit your application for renewal though required to be completed prior to issuance of the license. Please refer to the Important Timeline Information section above.
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city, or city and county, may issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).
Who May be Issued a License
The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 (a Sheriff or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department) may issue a license to persons who are of good moral character, who have completed a course of training, and have good cause for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. Click here to view all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Butte County Sheriff's Office
Address: 5 Gillick Way
Oroville, CA 95965
Butte County Sheriff’s Office Website: https://www.buttecounty.net/sheriffcoroner
Phone: (855) 642-2453